European Parliamentary Election 2014 results

I, Mary Pitcaithly, Regional Returning Officer for the Electoral Region of Scotland at the European Parliamentary Elections held on 22 May 2014 do hereby give public notice, as follows, of

  1. the total number of valid votes (as notified to me) given to each registered party and
  2. the number of votes which such a party had at any stage when a seat was allocated to that party, the names in full and home address in full of each candidate who fills a seat or to whom a seat has been allocated and whether, in the case of a party, there are remaining candidates on that party’s list who have not been declared to be elected.

Total number of valid votes given to each registered party

  • Britain First 13,639
  • British National Party 10,216
  • Conservative Party 231,330
  • Labour Party 348,219
  • Liberal Democrats 95,319
  • NO2EU

Successful candidates

Members of the European Parliamentary (MEPs) are elected by proportional representation (PR). Instead of electing one person to one seat in each constituency, the UK is divided up into regions, and several MEPs are elected from each region.

Scotland is treated as one region and returns six MEPs out of 73 for the UK. The PR system uses closed regional lists, where political parties put forward candidates within each region (the regional list). Individual candidates may also stand. Voters cast their vote either for a party or an individual candidate.

Votes on allocation to seat of each successful candidate

  • Ian Hudghton (Scottish National Party) 389,503
  • David Martin (Labour Group) 348,219
  • Ian Duncan (Conservative Party) 231,330
  • Alyn Smith (Scottish National Party) 194,752
  • Catherine Stihler (Labour Party) 174,110
  • David Adam Coburn (UK Independence Party) 140,534